> Favorite Software
no1herd
post Feb 11 2007, 09:31 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 15,018
Phone: Blackjack
Carrier: Alltel

I am new to the BlackJack I just got mine last week. So far I love it I had a mpx200 before. I want to know what is some of the favorite/best software I can look into installing I use it for business and entertainment. Thanks in advance for your help.

I've been a long time viewer first time poster.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
runningtiger
post Feb 13 2007, 12:41 AM
Post #2

Mobile Gadget Idol
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Member No.: 11,486
Phone: HTC Wizard
Carrier: Alltel

I don't have a BlackJack, so I don't know specifically if there are better options, but for entertainment (music and video) I like TCPMP. It's free and works better than the built in media player (IMHO) because it plays more file types and I like how it handles playlists etc.

I added a free program called "Convert It" for all the basic math conversions (mm to inches etc.) and Orneta Calculator for a better basic calculator than the built in one. It allows you to see multiple entries in sort of a "tape" fashion so it's very easy to tell if you've entered the digits correctly. That was also free.

I wouldn't want to be without those three programs in my work-a-day routine (and a little play wink.gif ).

I also find Google Maps very useful (there is a java midlet version & a CAB file version that vary slightly, check them both out to find which one serves you best - if you don't have a GPS receiver than I'd go with the java midlet myself) as well as AvantGo for pre-downloading news stories etc. and having them ready to read wherever I am without needing a data connection right then & there (since they're already on my phone (I sync each morning to get all the updates for my chosen content)).