IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Playing AVI Videos, Do any AVIs play on the 8525?
rcauvin
post Jun 8 2007, 03:07 PM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-January 05
Member No.: 6,774



I have a large collection of AVIs on my computer and would like to be able to copy them to the storage card on my phone and view them there. Using ActiveSync to open file explorer, I have no trouble copying the files to the storage card. And the files appear just fine when I browse using File Explorer on my phone. But opening them in Windows Media Player on my phone results in the error message, "Cannot play the file." I have tried this with five different AVIs of various sizes. What gives?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
abatis
post Jun 8 2007, 03:33 PM
Post #2


Site Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,204
Joined: 10-December 03
From: Denver, Colorado
Member No.: 626
Phone: Samsung i760
Carrier: Verizon
Secondary Carrier: Sprint
PocketPC: Other



I always use BetaPlayer now called TCPMP.


--------------------
Editor/Administrator MGN
MGN Making Your Windows Mobile Life Simpler

Main : Samsung i760 - Verizon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smeg36
post Jun 8 2007, 07:01 PM
Post #3


Moderator
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4,428
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Miami Beach
Member No.: 1,045
Phone: HTC Touch
Carrier: Sprint/Nextel



I also use TCPMP, but want to add something. If these are really high quality AVI files meant for playback on a PC (high bitrate and resolution) they may skip when playing on the limited processor of a PPC. If that does happen you may have to re-encode them for the PPC resolution. It also helps because you can shrink the file size for a PPC while retaining the quality, thus fitting more videos.


--------------------
Phone: Sprint Touch Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rcauvin
post Jun 11 2007, 04:29 PM
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-January 05
Member No.: 6,774



QUOTE (abatis @ Jun 8 2007, 03:33 PM) *
I always use BetaPlayer now called TCPMP.

Thanks. Just installed TCPMP. Seems to be working well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th August 2017 - 11:25 PM