Group: Senior Admin
Member No.: 1
Phone: Cingular Blackjack
Carrier: AT&T Wireless/Cingular
PocketPC: HTC
MP3 Player: iPod Nano
PMC: Creative Zen
Google Talk ID: murphy dot sean at g mail dot com

I'm an audio junkie. I love it, I love music and movies, I LOVE Surround sound. I was a musician for years playing Drums in a metal band. I consider myself a connoisseur of music. I have an iPod and I listen to it all the time, I listen to music on my Dell PDA, on my MPx220, all over, all the time. So, when Boostaroo asked me to look at their headphone amp, I jumped at the opportunity.

Attached Image

The Boostaroo Revolution (we'll call it the BR from here on out so I don't have to get carpel tunnel) is a small device that you plug into your portable audio/video player and then plug your headphones into the other end. The object of the device is to boost the audio signal and if you so choose, split it into two channels of HiFi audio.

Attached Image

The unit is simple in design on the outside, a single 1/8" audio jack input (that doubles as the power switch, plug in and it turns on), two 1/8" audio jack outputs, a power on LED, and a battery door for the two AAAA batteries required for operation. It comes with two input cords, one 4" long and one 7" and two AAAA batteries.

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Attached Image

Does it work?
You bet, it is hard for me to quantify the result other than to say that your headset sounds better when Boostarooed. The sound is louder at a lower device volume level for sure (this will save device battery levels BTW), the bass has more punch, and the highs are a bit crisper and the sound is much more CD like than MP3 like. I checked this device out under a pile of different configurations, here is what I found:

Source - iPod Nano > EQ set to Off
Sound file > U2 Vertigo ripped using the iTunes MP3 encoder at 192kbps (great reference tune with lots of range and killer low end)