IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vista, Outlook 03 and 7, Can I syn 03 and 07?
Xeno
post Feb 4 2007, 01:16 AM
Post #1


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



My new home pc arrives Monday from Dell and will have Vista. I want to immediately load Office 2007, but my pc at the office has to wait until the entire building does this and I have no idea when that will happen.

So if I have Outlook 03 on my office pc and Outlook 07 on my home pc, will the 3125 be able to syn the email, calendar, and contacts?


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 4 2007, 01:31 AM
Post #2


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



Sorry, I obviously meant Outlook 03, not 06.

And I have read about the syn software that is new with Vista so I hope this does not become a problem. Anyone with a 3125 used the Vista version yet?


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrYph0n
post Feb 4 2007, 11:35 AM
Post #3


Site Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3,190
Joined: 8-January 04
From: Southern California
Member No.: 1,097
Phone: Other
Carrier: AT&T Wireless/Cingular
PocketPC: HTC
MP3 Player: Creative
PMC: Creative Zen
Google Talk ID: eric.d.jones (at) gmail.com



I have successfully sync'd my phone with my laptop (Running Vista RC1 with Office 2007 beta), as well with my PC (running XP with Office 2003), so you shouldn't run into any problems if that is what you are asking. I don't make it a common practice to sync outlook with my computers since I sync with an exchange server, but I will from time to time to make sure that my computers have a "backup" and that I am up to date on things across the board.


--------------------
Eric Jones
Editor / Moderator
Mobile Gadget News
Staff Sergeant
United States Marine Corps, Infantry
Currently using an iPhone
My Gadget History : AT&T Tilt,
Cingular 3125, i-Mate Smartflip, G-Sat BT359W GPS, Parrot Rhythm n'Blue BT Car Stereo, Logitech Mobile Traveller, & ThinkOutside BT Keyboard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 4 2007, 01:55 PM
Post #4


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



QUOTE (GrYph0n @ Feb 4 2007, 06:35 AM) *
I have successfully sync'd my phone with my laptop (Running Vista RC1 with Office 2007 beta), as well with my PC (running XP with Office 2003), so you shouldn't run into any problems if that is what you are asking. I don't make it a common practice to sync outlook with my computers since I sync with an exchange server, but I will from time to time to make sure that my computers have a "backup" and that I am up to date on things across the board.


Yes, that's what I was asking. Little surprised it works, but glad to hear things will be okay. Now I know which version of Office 2007 to install on my new Dell with Vista Premium.


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 6 2007, 02:31 AM
Post #5


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



Well, I can't get it to work.

Followed instructions on Ms web. Everything seems to be installed properly. Show ready to syn, but every time I tried to activate the syn Vista gives me the message "syn failed."

Soooo, I don't know what to do. Anyone gone through this that can draw some pictures for me, please?


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 6 2007, 02:39 AM
Post #6


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



Sorry for putting this thread at the top. I had to did a hard stop of the pc and when it started up, the syn worked fine.


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 9 2007, 04:00 PM
Post #7


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



Well ... my dancing in the streets was premature. The syn reported earlier in this thread is the ONLY time that it has worked.

After that success, I turned my attention to loading all the software on the new pc. I have everything going with one exception (Paperport) that has been turned over to the vendor's research team for a solution.

So I have uninstalled the activesyn Vista 32 bit software and reinstalled the software according to online instructions (like with device connected). I have disabled my firewall and anti-virus programs.

On occasion the Vista window will show the device is connected and reports that the syn has failed. But soon the little green flashing bar changes to red and reports the syn failed. Underneath is a note about "1 error". I click on the hyperlink and it goes nowhere. I have go through all aspects of the Syn Center software and no found any place to change a connection setting so I don't know if that would make a difference.

So what's the verdict? Do I have to wait for the next version of this software or is there a known solution? I have Outlook 2007 on both my Vista pc and Xp Pro pc with no problems with the Xp syn.


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrYph0n
post Feb 10 2007, 08:42 PM
Post #8


Site Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3,190
Joined: 8-January 04
From: Southern California
Member No.: 1,097
Phone: Other
Carrier: AT&T Wireless/Cingular
PocketPC: HTC
MP3 Player: Creative
PMC: Creative Zen
Google Talk ID: eric.d.jones (at) gmail.com



Vista doesn't use activesync, it uses Windows Mobile Device Manager. I assume that is what you are talking about.


--------------------
Eric Jones
Editor / Moderator
Mobile Gadget News
Staff Sergeant
United States Marine Corps, Infantry
Currently using an iPhone
My Gadget History : AT&T Tilt,
Cingular 3125, i-Mate Smartflip, G-Sat BT359W GPS, Parrot Rhythm n'Blue BT Car Stereo, Logitech Mobile Traveller, & ThinkOutside BT Keyboard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 10 2007, 09:33 PM
Post #9


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



QUOTE (GrYph0n @ Feb 10 2007, 03:42 PM) *
Vista doesn't use activesync, it uses Windows Mobile Device Manager. I assume that is what you are talking about.



You're right, of course. When I get in a hurry my memory blurs. I have been working on 5 new devices lately all of which have required hours of tech support. My "restful Saturday" started with 3-4 hours of tech support on the phone and still unresolved problems like the one in this thread.

When I called Ms about my problem, then said I could pay $59 to get help. I said that was unfair since their driver was deficient and they have had a long history of problems with this new syn software. Then they said call Dell. And I said I did call Dell about another question and brought this up. Even though they are not supposed to work on this kind of software the tech took about 30 minutes trying to help me solve it. Then Ms said to try self help and I replied I have gone all through the MS web, the laughable troubleshooting 'guide' for the Syn Center, and posted messages in three different forums.


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrYph0n
post Feb 11 2007, 11:14 AM
Post #10


Site Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3,190
Joined: 8-January 04
From: Southern California
Member No.: 1,097
Phone: Other
Carrier: AT&T Wireless/Cingular
PocketPC: HTC
MP3 Player: Creative
PMC: Creative Zen
Google Talk ID: eric.d.jones (at) gmail.com



Are you running the latest version of Mobile Device Center (it is in full release now, not beta), and have you attempted removing it and doing a fresh install of Device Center? Again, with as much time as you are investing I am sure you have done these things, just trying to cover the troubleshooting bases. I have had limited issues when syncing to Vista, but I blamed most of that on the fact that I am still running RC1 and until recently I was using MDC Beta.


--------------------
Eric Jones
Editor / Moderator
Mobile Gadget News
Staff Sergeant
United States Marine Corps, Infantry
Currently using an iPhone
My Gadget History : AT&T Tilt,
Cingular 3125, i-Mate Smartflip, G-Sat BT359W GPS, Parrot Rhythm n'Blue BT Car Stereo, Logitech Mobile Traveller, & ThinkOutside BT Keyboard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 11 2007, 12:44 PM
Post #11


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



QUOTE (GrYph0n @ Feb 11 2007, 06:14 AM) *
Are you running the latest version of Mobile Device Center (it is in full release now, not beta), and have you attempted removing it and doing a fresh install of Device Center? Again, with as much time as you are investing I am sure you have done these things, just trying to cover the troubleshooting bases. I have had limited issues when syncing to Vista, but I blamed most of that on the fact that I am still running RC1 and until recently I was using MDC Beta.


Thanks GrYphOn, but yes I am using the full version and have done a reinstall.

My Dell 410 arrived on Monday with Vista Home Premium installed at the factory. Having researched what to do, I went to Microsoft's web and got WMDC. With the initial success, I turned my attention to loading all the other software. So when WMDC and/or the Syn Center failed to ever make a successful syn, I did an unintall from the control panel, a cold reboot, then reinstalled the software after downloading WMDC again in case it had been updated.

I have made several security adjustments like making sure that all the pertinent WMDC files are allowed all ports by my firewall. I ran one boot with Windows firewall unchecked - which confuses me that it was running anyway so I have it disabled. I have not tried to use msconfig and disable everything in startup and services and see (after rebooting) what would happen. I am uncomfortable about doing that and unsure that it would make a difference and wouldn't want to go through that process everytime I syn with this pc since I do so once a day.

The WMDC will connect to my 3125 and has let me explore the phone, but when it starts to syn it stops. The error messages from WMDC are: syn started, syn stopped, "Activesyn encountered a problem with the desktop." Yes, it does say "Activesyn" even though I do not have it in my control panel and never installed it. I think it is just a carry-over of the old program because WMDC and the Syn Center execute like Activesyn but have added features.


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JosephPar
post Feb 12 2007, 04:46 AM
Post #12


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 4-November 04
Member No.: 5,559



Not sure that I will be much help, but I have been running Windows Vista Enterprise on a Dell D610 for a few months now with WMDC Beta 3 and now WMDC RTW and my 3125 syncs just fine with my Exchange server both over the air and through the pass through connection. One thing I always do is to make sure the Mobile Device Settings, Connection Settings has that this computer is connected to The Internet instead of Automatic or Work Network. I don't know if this will help you but it has been a key factor for success since my first WM device many years ago. I think this is normally related to proxy settings at work, but I know that it has helped others at my office get their devices working even on XP with ActiveSync.

P.S. I have been able to browse my phone with the explorer and I have a few hundred MB of songs on my 1GB microSD that play just fine during my commute to work each day.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 12 2007, 03:11 PM
Post #13


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



QUOTE (JosephPar @ Feb 11 2007, 11:46 PM) *
Not sure that I will be much help, but I have been running Windows Vista Enterprise on a Dell D610 for a few months now with WMDC Beta 3 and now WMDC RTW and my 3125 syncs just fine with my Exchange server both over the air and through the pass through connection. One thing I always do is to make sure the Mobile Device Settings, Connection Settings has that this computer is connected to The Internet instead of Automatic or Work Network. I don't know if this will help you but it has been a key factor for success since my first WM device many years ago. I think this is normally related to proxy settings at work, but I know that it has helped others at my office get their devices working even on XP with ActiveSync.

P.S. I have been able to browse my phone with the explorer and I have a few hundred MB of songs on my 1GB microSD that play just fine during my commute to work each day.


Thanks for an informative response. Glad it works for you.

Unforunately, my problem is not with ActiveSyn or my Xp pc at work. It is my home computer and the only connection it has is cable Internet. I am weary from all the forums where I have posted this problem and a few others seem to have like issues but none of us have found a solution. My guess is that I will have to wait - months? - for an update to WMDC and it will finally work. I think it unreasonable for Ms to charge me $50 to give me a work-around solution for a problem that is caused by their defective software. Although things went well with you, the forums are full of people who had all kinds of problems with the beta versions.

My case was brand new pc one week ago with Vista installed and I quickly followed directions on WMDC gleaned from other forums. I must say that in some of the Ms NGs that a few have given specific advice and I have tried them all to not avail. The last one was did I install Office 07 or WMDC first because of a possible MAPI issue. I think I did WMDC first, but after Office 07 I did an uninstall, cold boot, and reinstall of WMDC. Unfortuantely, I don't know how to identify MAPI apps and so can't speak to whether there exists other possible conflicts on my Vista pc.

Again this morning no trouble at the office with BT Xp Pro syn, but I need the Vista pc to be in the loop or something will be missing on my 3125 on my next trip.


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xeno
post Feb 17 2007, 03:37 PM
Post #14


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 6-February 05
Member No.: 7,190
Phone: Cingular 8525
Carrier: Alltel



What is Midlet Manager? I don't remember if this was already on the phone and can't tell what it does.

According to a discussion in the activesync Ms NG (that includes WMDC), the Ms techs are saying that most folk who can not syn should clean out all 3rd party programs, do a hard reset and go from there.

Well none of my 3rd party programs have anything to do with sync. I have just Ms VC, Sprite BackUp, Google Maps, and DontForget. Most of not all are on the storage card and at the moment I dont remember install and uninstaling anything else, certainly nothing to do with sync. I don't want to have to do a reinstall of my primary software on this Vista pc since the complications would be beyond my knowledge. In fact, I would even have to relearn how to install all these programs.

Anyway, I don't think my phone is the problem because when the pc arrived with Vista and I installed WMDC, I could sync for at least one day. Then I installed a lot of office software and from then on I never get past the "connected" stage with WMDC. When the sync bar lights up, it quickly turns red and says that 'activesync' encounter a problem with the desktop. The only activesyn I have is the one that came with the 3125.

Thanks in advance for your help. Not being able to sync with my Vista pc is now becoming a serious problem to my system of keeping life organized. I'll have to go back to paper!


--------------------
Cingular 3125, MPX 220 1.43
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2017 - 02:43 PM