IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to use your Q as a PowerPoint Clicker
abatis
post Jun 16 2006, 10:20 PM
Post #1


Site Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,204
Joined: 10-December 03
From: Denver, Colorado
Member No.: 626
Phone: Samsung i760
Carrier: Verizon
Secondary Carrier: Sprint
PocketPC: Other



Jeff Strasser outlines on how to use your Motorola Q as a PowerPoint Clicker on his MSDN blog

Jeff Writes:
Perhaps one of the coolest features of the recently released Motorola Q is the ability to remote control (via bluetooth) your desktop PC. In the bluetooth options you'll find an app called 'PC Remote', which, when run, creates a partnership with your bluetooth enabled desktop or notebook PC and installed the Q as a bluetooth HID (keyboard/mouse device).

The app then has three built in features...

- PC remote - gives you the ability to control the windows desktop.

- PowerPoint remote - gives you the ability to use your Q as a 'clicker' PowerPoint slide shows.

- Media Player remote - let's you control Windows Media Player on your desktop PC from your Q.

This is a rockin' feature that I haven't seen talked about in many reviews yet.

Here are the steps Motorola has to set it up....its very very simple and give you a very nice UI on the screen to show you how the keys on the Q map to your PC...

(from http://direct.motorola.com/ENS/q-bluetooth...roductid=30419)

PC Remote
From the Bluetooth® application, select BT PC Remote.
Press the Add key.
The Motorola Q will prepare itself to be paired with from a PC.
Initiate a pairing from the PC.
Exchange passkeys with the PC.
Press the Accept key.
The Motorola Q keypad can now be used to control navigation of the PC desktop.
Press the Menu key for more options.
The Motorola Q keypad can also control Windows Media Player, and PowerPoint.


--------------------
Editor/Administrator MGN
MGN Making Your Windows Mobile Life Simpler

Main : Samsung i760 - Verizon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smeg36
post Jun 17 2006, 02:01 AM
Post #2


Moderator
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4,428
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Miami Beach
Member No.: 1,045
Phone: HTC Touch
Carrier: Sprint/Nextel



I absolutely love this feature. I've used it since day 1 for controlling my PC while I give PPT lessons at school. Works great, and keeps the kids entertained. It also works nice for controlling WMP when I want to watch an avi movie on my TV.


--------------------
Phone: Sprint Touch Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Migdalor Guy
post Jul 6 2006, 07:15 PM
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-July 06
From: Alexandria, VA
Member No.: 12,792
Phone: Motorola Q
Carrier: Verizon
PocketPC: HP iPAQ
MP3 Player: Creative



Wow! Now I'm really glad I joined this forum!! What a great tip and not highly publicized features. PowerPoint AND my Media Center PC.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tshawnh
post Jul 30 2006, 02:27 PM
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 13,018
Phone: Motorola Q
Carrier: Verizon



I just ran across these posts and I'm trying to get this to work, but I can't seem to figure out how. Here's what's going on:

I've got the Q's Bluetooth on and set to "allow other Bluetooth devices to see this phone".

I can get the Q to connect to my Dell laptop's Bluetooth. The Dell has a little Bluetooth manager application that shows that the Q is connected.

When I go to the Q and into the "BT PC Remote" app and hit "Add", the Q sits patiently waiting to accept a new connection. The instructions say to go to the PC and initiate a pairing from the PC. Here's where I'm lost or confused. My Q is already paired with my PC (so says the Dell's BT Manager app and the BT Manager settings on the Q), so how do I go about initiating a pairing if one already exists? And since one already exists, I'm confused as to why the Q doesn't realize that and use the existing pairing.

I've tried creating a new connection from the Dell BT Manager while the Q is waiting, but that doesn't seem to work - I just end up with two of the same connection items.

I'm either making this harder than it has to be, or missing some obvious step. This is my first attempt at using Bluetooth technologies, so I'm a newbie at all this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

QUOTE (Migdalor Guy @ Jul 6 2006, 01:15 PM) *
Wow! Now I'm really glad I joined this forum!! What a great tip and not highly publicized features. PowerPoint AND my Media Center PC.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smeg36
post Jul 30 2006, 03:00 PM
Post #5


Moderator
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4,428
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Miami Beach
Member No.: 1,045
Phone: HTC Touch
Carrier: Sprint/Nextel



The confusion you're having is a result of profiles. Normally the Q only has certain profiles available. When you initially paired it with your laptop, you created a serial port profile so sync with. What the BT PC Remote needs is a HID profile. Do NOT connect your Q with your laptop before you open the BT PC Remote app. Hit Add (without already being connected), then go to your laptop and search for a new device. The Q should come up with the HID option available (depending on what BT stack you use, this step will be different).

Do you have any idea what BT stack your laptop uses? I've done this process with the Widcomm, BlueSoleil, and Toshiba BT stacks. It worked great with the Widcomm and BlueSoleil, but I had some trouble with the Toshiba stack.


--------------------
Phone: Sprint Touch Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tshawnh
post Jul 30 2006, 05:26 PM
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 13,018
Phone: Motorola Q
Carrier: Verizon



I'm guessing it's a Toshiba BT stack. I went into the "Bluetooth Local COM" app in Control Panel and there are several Toshiba BT port items listed.

Well, I got it to work. I just deleted the existing connection object in the laptop's BT Manager application and then re-ran the discovery process after hitting "Add" on the Q in the PC Remote. This time, I got 3 options, and Human Interface Device was one with the application being listed as "PC Remote". Put the mutual pwds in and it connected right up. Very slick little application.

I don't currently use BT for sync'ing with ActiveSync - still using USB for now, so this should work out OK. However, I'm guessing if I decide to add another profile for the Q, I should be able to, right? Would I, in theory, be able to sync with ActiveSync and use the Q for a remote control at the same time?

Thanks for your help - didn't have my head around the 'profiles' concept for different types of connections.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2017 - 06:33 PM