IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Create Splash Screen
SkippyTheNurse
post Dec 27 2006, 06:42 PM
Post #1


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 19-May 05
From: Houston. TX
Member No.: 8,753
Phone: Blackjack
Carrier: AT&T Wireless/Cingular
PocketPC: Dell
PMC: Other



Hey there everybody. I got tired of that stupid 3G splash screen when I power my BlackJack so I created my own.

WARNING: The registry edit that I am providing worked on my Blackjack, HOWEVER, I am in no way responsible to what happens to your BlackJack, or any other smartphone for that matter, should you choose to mess with your registry. If you feel uneasy messing with something that could make your phone a paper weight if you make a mistake, then do not proceed.




So here's what I did:

For Booting UP.
Go to HKLM\System\Startup\1
Switch to Values, and delete the "DLL" value.
Create a new DWORD, label it "Duration" and my "Value Data" was 9000.
Create a new STRING, label it "Splash", and in "Value Data", what you want to do is direct the registry to the image (For example: \Windows\TexasFlag1.gif)
NOTE: it has to be in .gif format, for some reason it doesn't do .jpg.

For Shutting DOWN.
Go to HKLM\System\Shutdown\1
Switch to Values, and delete the "DLL" value.
There is no need for a DWORD so just create a new STRING, label it "Splash", and direct the registry to the image you want to use.

Restart the phone. You won't see the shut down image if you're using Facade to do a reset unless you manually power it down.

And enjoy.

Another tip, if you want to change the blue background image during the call progress, create/edit the image you want to see while you're on a call, make sure that it is 320x240 and in .png format, but you must name it "cprogback_land.png". Copy and paste it from your phone memory to the "Windows" folder (NOT from PC to Phone, doesn't work for some reason), it'll ask if you want to replace the original (which is permanent, no other way to do it), click yes, reboot, and BAM! Now, you'll be able to see that picture of Pamela Anderson in the background during a phone call.

This post has been edited by SkippyTheNurse: Jan 9 2007, 05:31 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwntreader
post Jan 16 2007, 08:28 PM
Post #2


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 16-January 07
Member No.: 14,595
Phone: Dopod s300
Carrier: Alltel



Thanks, it worked great!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
smeg36
post Jan 16 2007, 11:10 PM
Post #3


Moderator
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4,428
Joined: 5-January 04
From: Miami Beach
Member No.: 1,045
Phone: HTC Touch
Carrier: Sprint/Nextel



Completely OT - I'm listening to the Voyage of the Dawn Treader audiobook right now. Funny. Welcom to MGN dwntreader.


--------------------
Phone: Sprint Touch Pro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SkippyTheNurse
post Feb 19 2008, 08:36 AM
Post #4


Gadget Junkie


Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 19-May 05
From: Houston. TX
Member No.: 8,753
Phone: Blackjack
Carrier: AT&T Wireless/Cingular
PocketPC: Dell
PMC: Other



Bump To Top!

Figure I bump this topic being that there are some new users and there is an update that has the ATT branding.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
oaky8
post Jan 1 2009, 01:22 AM
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 16,779
Phone: Blackjack
Carrier: T-Mobile
Secondary Carrier: Other
PocketPC: None



sorry im completely new here and only a blackjack owner for a few days

so i have some noob questions.
whats HKLM?
"Switch to Values"?
"Create a new DWORD"?

ok yeah i don't get all of the instructions. is there a tut for dumb people?
i have made a gif that i want to use and i dont want a tone, so i have that. thanks if you even bother to read my questions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
abatis
post Jan 1 2009, 03:20 PM
Post #6


Site Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,204
Joined: 10-December 03
From: Denver, Colorado
Member No.: 626
Phone: Samsung i760
Carrier: Verizon
Secondary Carrier: Sprint
PocketPC: Other



HKLM is a place in your registry on the phone. Similar to Windows OS. You get there by using a program like PHM Regedit. Be careful. If you screw something up you may have to hard reset the phone and you could lose your data but the phone will be restored to new. But it is fun to tweak the phone to get the most out of it.


--------------------
Editor/Administrator MGN
MGN Making Your Windows Mobile Life Simpler

Main : Samsung i760 - Verizon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
oaky8
post Jan 2 2009, 02:31 AM
Post #7


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 16,779
Phone: Blackjack
Carrier: T-Mobile
Secondary Carrier: Other
PocketPC: None



thanks

i got the regedit thing from here
but i dont see see a cab file to run on the phone.


sorry for not knowing any thing about this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th June 2017 - 09:05 PM